top of page

Our First Family Movie Night

I had a dream about having girls: dressing them up, having tea parties, doing their hair, and, of course, sharing in the love for Disney Princesses! Of course, my daughter wanted nothing to do with Princesses. She...was a super hero!

Until one day she came to me and wanted to play a game that our neighbor had given us. To make a long story short, this game required a lot of knowledge about Disney Princesses. I said to her "You probably won't like this game because you don't know anything about the Princesses" To which her reply was "I wanna play it anyways!" Ok, here we go. After I got just about every answer correct, and my daughter got every answer wrong, I could see her getting upset. The game was just about over when she says to me "Mommy, I want to watch the princess movies now. So I can play this game...and win." My eyes widened and a smile came across my face, because it was time! Time for the introductions!

I came across these movie night ideas when I was on Pinterest one day and I thought this would be such a fun weekly activity to have with my family. My plan was as to create a whole themed night that my family could enjoy. Our dinner was (preferably) themed along with the movie, and would also be something I knew my kids would eat. I would also make a dessert that would also be themed with the movie. And of course, popcorn (because who has a movie night without popcorn?!?!) We also chose Friday's as our weekly day to do this. It just worked best for our family.

Our first movie was to be Frozen. (We started with all of the Princess Movies first) Its one of the few movies we had seen already and was an easy start for us. I actually didn't plan a special dinner for the first night. (It was our first one after all!) All of our movies I either borrowed from our friends or I rented them from the Library. It only took a little planning ahead to request the movie we wanted to watch.

I had made Frozen Blue Hot Chocolate with Marshmallows. Along with Popcorn of course! (What is a movie night without popcorn?!) Overall, our first movie night was a success and I couldn't wait until next week! My wheels were just turning!

 

Frozen Blue Hot Chocolate

- 1/2 White Chocolate Chips

- 1 3/4 Cup of Milk

-1/4 tsp Vanilla extract

- neon blue food coloring (blue food coloring will work if neon is not available)

1. Bring the milk and white chocolate chips to a simmer over medium low heat, stirring the whole time. Do NOT boil.

2. Keep stirring until chocolate chips are melted. Remove from heat.

3. Stir in Vanilla extract and 3 drops of food coloring.

4. Serve as desired. (We just served with marshmallows)

bottom of page